Ian Tyson - Cowboyography

Ian Tyson
Folk, World, & Country
Label: Stony Plain Records ‎– SPL 1102
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: Canada
Date of released: 1986
Category: Rock, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country, Country Rock


A1 Springtime 2:30
A2 Navajo Rug 2:58
A3 Summer Wages 4:14
A4 Fifty Years Ago 3:55
A5 Rockies Turn Rose 3:10
A6 Claude Dallas 5:02
B1 Own Heart's Delight 3:44
B2 The Gift 4:15
B3 Cowboy Pride 3:35
B4 Old Cheyenne 5:30
B5 The Coyote & The Cowboy 3:40

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Stony Plain Recording Co.
  • Distributed By – BMG Music Canada Inc.
  • Distributed By – Musique BMG Du Canada Inc.
  • Manufactured For – Eastern Slope Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Eastern Slope Records
  • Copyright (c) – Eastern Slope Records
  • Pressed By – Cinram
  • Printed By – Shorewood Packaging Corp. Of Canada Ltd.
  • Recorded At – Sundae Sound


  • Backing Vocals – Cindy Church, Randy Fournier
  • Bass – George Koller
  • Design [Album] – Elaine Prodor Design
  • Drums – Thom Moon
  • Engineer – Louis Sedmak, Richard Harrow
  • Fiddle – Myran Szott, Roy Warhurst
  • Guitar – Louis Sedmak, Nathan Tinkham
  • Photography By [Album] – Kurt Markus
  • Piano – Adrian Chornowol
  • Producer – Adrian Chornowol
  • Steel Guitar – Stan Stewart
  • Written-By – I. Tyson* (tracks: A1 to B5), T. Russell* (tracks: A2, A6)


Cover has no border.
Clear inner sleeve.
Lower right back cover: Stony Plain Records sticker wraps around spine to lower left front cover (providing spine and front cover with catalogue number).
Includes lyrics insert with credits and photo.
Lyric sheet and back cover have track B5 title as "The Coyote & The Cowboy", but the label has it as "The Coyboy [sic] & the Coyote".
Printed and made in Canada.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Side A): ESL-801-A (SOL-102) [Cinram stamp]
  • Matrix / Runout (Side B): ESL-101-B (SPL-102) [Cinram stamp]

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ESL-101 Ian Tyson Cowboyography ‎(LP, Album) Eastern Slope Records ESL-101 Canada 1986
SH-1021 Ian Tyson Cowboyography ‎(LP, Album) Sugar Hill Records SH-1021 Canada 1987
SPCD 1102 Ian Tyson Cowboyography ‎(CD, Album) Stony Plain Recording Co. SPCD 1102 Canada 1986
ES5-01, ES5 01 Ian Tyson Cowboyography ‎(Cass, Album) Eastern Slope Records, Eastern Slope Records ES5-01, ES5 01 Canada Unknown
SPL 1102 Ian Tyson Cowboyography ‎(LP, Album) Stony Plain Records SPL 1102 Canada 1986